Hey, it's me...
Wow, where do I start? I've got two weeks worth of excitement to share... which is not a good thing. So, let's begin at the beginning.
The rotten insurance company has decided it's time to do one it's periodic checks to see if I still deserve disability. Unfortunately, this means a trial by fire for the new doctor, who has not yet proven himself in battle against the insurance company. I am... concerned.
That said, in the course of talking to the doctor about insurance, he brought up the idea of me to doing physical therapy, which was something he'd mentioned before. Brief aside - what is it with new doctors that they always think everyone who came before them is an idiot and they know how to fix me? Well, his idea was the try physical therapy. I was... dubious... but I said I was willing to try.
To my shock, they scheduled me for a PT intact appointment almost immediately (a week ago Friday). Compare that to the almost-a-year it took me to get in to seeing the neurologist.
So, the PT appointment was... a complete disaster. Despite their casual reassurances, it was abundantly clear that they did not understand my condition. Long story less long, I was functionally incapacitated for three days and I'm not going back.
What's interesting there is that PT didn't even really argue with me about not coming back. Oh, they called me back after I'd called to cancel the months worth of weekly appointments they'd talked us into... but they didn't try to convince me to come back. If anything, I got the sense that they knew full well how badly they had screwed up and were in full damage control (please don't sue us) mode.
That was why last weeks update was so short, in case you wondered.
This week was... not as bad but still not good.
Tuesday (so just barely recovered from the PT debacle), I had to go into the eye doctor to pick up my new glasses. My new glasses are... not great. As soon as I put them on, I said "this is really weird." I was seeing 3d illusions of letters leaping off the page. Not something you want in reading glasses. This lead to spending too much time there while they checked, rechecked and double checked that the glasses were the prescription that had been ordered. They are. In the end, it was - well take them home and we'll call you to follow up.
When they didn't call, I did... because I'm mean. Result, I also spent way too much of Friday back at the eye-doctors when they re-checked, triple checked and tested the new glasses again. End result... me exhausted and still no answer.
However, the glasses seem to work better when I'm exhausted.
Theory 1 - The prescription is based on data from when I'm exhausted.
Theory 2 - Less-exhausted me (yeah, there is such a creature) was so used to forcing my eyes to focus using my old glasses (which were like 10 years old) and I was unknowingly doing the same thing with the new glasses, throwing them off. I can't do it was well when I'm tired, which is why the glasses actually work when I'm tired,
Could be either, could be both. I'm using the new glasses now. They're still not great but I seem to be adjusting to them.
So... yeah... the last two weeks sucked.
I really want to just do nothing next week. Wish me luck.
Onward



